Devon Football Family Awards Evening 2023

Our inaugural awards evening was held on Thursday 26th October 2023 at The Forge, Winslade Manor.

Last week saw the return on our annual awards evening, the newly named Devon Football gamily Awards took place at The Forge in Winslade Park. The evening was hosted by David Fitzgerald and we were joined by over 100 guests from across Devon to celebrate Devon Football.

To present the awards we were delighted to welcome Exeter City 1st Team Manager, Gary Caldwell, and his assistant, David Perkins, along with Plymouth Argyle 1st Team Manager, Stephen Schumacher, and his assistant, Mark Hughes.

During the evening we presented twenty five awards across our four categories, England Football Awards, Long Service to Refereeing, and our own Devon County FA awards and Representative Caps.

Not only were our award winners able to have their photo taken with their award on the evening, we were privileged to have the EFL League 1 Trophy on display for all our attendees to have a photo with. We would like to thank Plymouth Argyle for enabling this to take place.

View all the photos from the awards evening here.

David Parish, Leader of Devon FA’s Council said: “I am proud to have been part of a fantastic evening, celebrating the service to Grassroot football of some of the Fabulous Volunteers we have here in Devon. It was also great to have the support for grassroots football from our 'Professional Clubs'”.

Thank you to all our guests on the evening and congratulations to our award winners, we are already looking forward to next years awards on Thursday 27th June 2024!

Our award winners on the night were;

England Football Grassroots Awards

Coach of the Year (Female Pathway) – Craig Roberts (YMCA All Saints U14 Girls)

Coach of the Year (Male Pathway) – Ashley Down (Watcombe Wanderers Youth U10)

Coach of the Year (Disability Pathway) – Alonzo Marshall (Exeter City Ability Counts)

Grounds Team of the Year –  Adam Chidley (Holsworthy Youth)

Club of the Year – Bere Alston United Youth

League of the Year – Devon Ability Counts League

Match Official of the Year – Hayden Austin

Young Volunteer of the Year – Chardonnay James (Signal Box Oak Villa Youth)

New Volunteer of the Year – Joe Yusuf (Brixham Town Walking Football)

Positive Football Environment Award – Bernard Leach (Devon Junior & Minor League)

Services of Refereeing

Long Service to Refereeing (40 Years) – Dudley Frood

Long Service to Refereeing (40 Years) – Neil Jones

Long Service to Refereeing (40 Years) – Reginald Cross

Long Service to Refereeing (40 Years) – Nicholas Chapman

Long Service to Refereeing (40 Years) – Roger Martin

Long Service to Refereeing (50 Years) – Phil Willer

Long Service to Refereeing (50 Years) – Terry Atkins

Long Service to Refereeing (50 Years) – Nigel Pearce

Devon County FA Awards

Charles Nosworthy Award (East) – Budleigh Salterton

Charles Nosworthy Award (West)  Inter Plymouth

Charles Nosworthy Award (South) – Ilsington Villa

Charles Nosworthy Award (North) – South Molton AFC

Charles Nosworthy Overall Award – Inter Plymouth

Long Service Award (East) – Pat McDonagh

Long Service Award (West) – Mark Rowles

Long Service Award (South) – John Mills

Long Service Award (North) – Fred Saunders

Steve Betts Services to Football Award – Neil Keen (Starcross Dons Youth)

DCFA Representative Cap – Gemma Aspinal

DCFA Representative Cap – Laura Capel