Under 11 Danone Devon County Schools Finals

Devon School Finals Day Report

Congratulations to Wynstream and Horrabridge, who both qualify to represent Devon in this year’s Under 11 Danone South West Finals in the ‘mixed’ and ‘girls’ categories respectively.

Plympton Academy School (Plymouth) were our fantastic hosts for both of this year’s County Finals, with the mixed event first to take place on Wednesday 27th January. Seven schools from all over Devon attended, split into two groups.

In Group A, Wynstream pipped Sherwell Valley to first position on goal difference, both finishing the group with seven points. Leigham Primary were the deserved winners of Group B, winning all four games. Montgomery progressed as runners up, narrowly knocking out Bradworthy, on goal difference.

Semi-final one saw Wynstream defeat Montgomery by one goal to nil, whilst in the other semi-final the lottery of penalties were needed to decide a closely contested tie between Leigham and Sherwell Valley; the latter qualifying for the final.

A single goal decided the final and it was a fantastic long range strike which clinched the trophy for Wynstream. Congratulations to Wynstream who progress to the South West Regional Finals, but also a big well done to Sherwell Valley, Widey Court, Ilfracombe, Bradworthy, Montgomery and Leigham for reaching the County Final stage.

The Devon County Girls Final took place on Monday 4th March, with seven schools traveling from all over the county to participate. Group A was extremely close, with the opening four games all ending goalless. Wynstream won their final game 4-0 to take top spot, with Horrabridge winning 2-0 to progress to the knock-out stage. Montgomery were the winners of Group B, ending undefeated with three wins and a draw. Hooe Primary finished second, with Ilfracombe in third.

Both semi-finals were decided by a single goal, highlighting how closely contested all of the teams were. Group A winners Wynstream continued their unbeaten streak, beating a hard-working Hooe team 1-0, whilst Horrabridge beat Montgomery by the same score line.

With Horrabridge and Wynstream already facing each other in the group stage, drawing nil-nil, the final was always going to be tight. It was a brilliant match, with some great football on show and was eventually decided with a superb strike from outside the box to win the game for Horrabridge. Massive congratulations to Horrabridge who will represent Devon. Well done to Sticklepath, All Saints Babbacombe, Wynstream, Hooe, Ilfracombe and Montgomery for contributing to a high standard competition.