Devon Football League - Meeting

The Devon Football League kicked-off in a sense on Tuesday night with the inaugural league meeting held at Tiverton Town Football Club

The DFL Committee met with member clubs, confirming the league structure for the 2019-20 season, introducing the new league sponsors, procedures, regulations, media output and the relationship with the South-West Peninsula League.

Operating at Step 7 of the Football Association League structures, the DFL will be a tier above the existing regional divisions in the North, South, East and West of the County. The DFL will then potentially feed successful clubs into the Peninsula League.

It was very clear from the enthusiasm and appetite shown by all member clubs at the meeting that there is great excitement for everyone inside Devon football to now be embarking on a brand new competition.

The composition of the DFL will see two separate divisions; one from the north and east of the county and the other comprising sides from the south and west. The two leagues of 16 clubs will see a mixture of former Peninsula sides, teams moving up from the County regional divisions and reserve outfits competing against each other.

Devon Football League North / East


Devon Football League South / West




Bere Alston United


Bovey Tracey Reserves


Buckland Athletic Reserves




Kingsteignton Athletic


Budleigh Salterton


Lakeside Athletic


Chudleigh Athletic


Newton Abbot Spurs Reserves


Clyst Valley


Ottery St Mary


Exmouth Town Reserves


Plymouth Argyle Development


Exwick Villa


Paignton Saints


Heavitree United


Paignton Villa


Liverton United


Plympton Athletic




Plymstock United


St Martins






Tavistock Reserves


Topsham Town


Totnes & Dartington




Waldon Athletic


University of Exeter


Watcombe Wanderers


Chaired by Devon FA Chief Executive Paul Morrison, Devon FA Chairman Bernard Leach and DFL Vice-Chairman Dave Baskwill, member clubs were given an introduction to the league rules, largely based on the format deployed by the Peninsula League last season.

A key component to the successful formation of any league is the recruitment of dedicated financial supporters and it was fantastic to welcome Scott Richards Solicitors from Teignmouth as the main DFL sponsors.

The DFL has also received backing from McDonalds, Thomas Westcott Accountants, SWAZ Teamwear, Carling, Firewatch and Pro-Direct Soccer, with a total prize money, across a number of categories, exceeding £10,000.

Peninsula League Secretary Phil Hiscox was on hand to share his knowledge on competition rules and explain how the relationship will work between the SWPL and DFL, with clear opportunities for progression offered to those teams who enjoy positive campaigns.

Member clubs were given advice on the crucial areas of ground grading, player registrations, fixture rules, the Whole Game System, how to achieve Charter Standard status and accessing funding for ground improvements.

From a media perspective, the DFL is building a new website in partnership with Club Nets and the fledgling twitter feed of @DFLeague2019 had over 150 followers inside the first 24 hours. There is also the opportunity for clubs to access the rejuvenated FA Matchday App as a communication tool for managers and players, with potential scope to earn some revenue from the FA.

A successful evening was completed with the traditional drama of numbered balls in the hat, as Fixture Secretary Chris Cole conducted the first round draw for the DFL League Cup, sponsored by McDonalds.

The full draw is listed below and the all new Devon Football League is already capturing the imagination of players, clubs, officials and supporters of local football.

McDonalds League Cup First Round Draw
Newton Abbot Spurs Reserves v Ottery St Mary
Plympton Athletic v Totnes & Dartington
Teignmouth v Bovey Tracey Reserves
Waldon Athletic v Exwick Villa
Chudleigh Athletic v Budleigh Salterton
Newtown v Buckland Athletic Reserves
Bere Alston United v Alphington
Topsham Town v Plymouth Argyle Development
Paignton Villa v Lakeside Athletic
Liverton United v Witheridge
Plymstock United v Braunton
University of Exeter v Paignton Saints
Kingsteignton Athletic v Roselands
Tavistock Reserves v Exmouth Town Reserves
St Martins v Watcombe Wanderers
Heavitree United v Clyst Valley