The FA Launches The 2019 McDonalds Grassroots Football Awards

Nominate your Grassroots hero now!

The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football awards are back!

Devon FA will be celebrating those people, clubs and leagues who make a positive difference across our communities. This is our chance to celebrate work that goes into the grassroots game – and say a big thank you to the incredible volunteers who inspire us to make the football better For All.

Nominate your Grassroots hero now!

Nominations are open from 5 April until 10 May 2019.

Anyone can make a nomination. Individuals should be nominated by someone else (not themselves), while anyone can nominate their own club and/or league.

To make a nomination visit

The awards are split into 10 categories:

Grassroots Coach of the Year
Grassroots Supporter of the Year
Grounds Team of the Year
Grassroots Club of the Year
Volunteer of the Year
Rising Star of the Year
We Only Do Positive Respect
Grassroots Project of the Year
Grassroots Match Official of the Year
Grassroots League of the Year

Nominate your grassroots hero now! Visit

Last year we had some fantastic individuals who received awards, as you can see below:


Above - The McDonalds Charter Standard Club Award 2018 – Crediton Youth (Martin Daniel) 


Above - The McDonalds Charter Standard League of the Year 2018 – North Devon Youth League


Above - The McDonalds Coach of the Year 2018 – Aaron Smallshaw (AFC Plympton U10’s)


Above - The McDonalds Community Project of the Year 2018 – Holsworthy Youth (Lyndon Piper)

The categories for this year’s awards are chosen to reflect the diversity of our football communities and the positive impact of football.

The FA’s Progressive, Respectful, Inclusive, Determined, and Excellent, values and behaviours are the backbone of The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football


We’re looking for people who make these values part of clubs, leagues and local communities.

When making a nomination think about how you can evidence the difference and impact on those around them.

You can see more about the award criteria at: //