teignmouth winners

Teignmouth 2 - 0 Torridgeside - Throgmorton Devon Premier Cup Final 2018

The Throgmorton Devon Premier Cup Final

Teignmouth 2 - 0 Torridgeside


On Thursday 3rd May, two teams from the same division and not even a point separated them in their league, faced each other at Coach Road to see who’ll lift the Throgmorton Devon Premier Cup.

pre match tvt

It was Teignmouth v Torridgeside at County HQ and that’s right, not even a point has separated them this season, so it was anticipated to be a hugely tight encounter.

The first attack of the match saw Teignmouth win a free kick about twenty-five yards out, Jack Baxter crossed into the area but was easily cleared by the Torridgeside defence. 

After eight minutes, Teignmouth attacked down the right with Sean Ayre, who hit a superb and dangerous cross in which Torridgeside’s Neil Bettiss heading out for a corner, from the resulting corner Torridgesides’ Ian Cockwell cleared without a Teignmouth challenge coming in.

Teignmouth put the Torridgeside defence under constant pressure winning several corners but were unable to capitalise on their dominance as the Torridgeside defence stood firm. 

tvt play

The match had become a scrappy attack against defence type game with no overall clear-cut chances for either side.

The deadlock was broken by Teignmouth in the thirty-ninth minute, a corner was crossed into the Torridgeside area which saw the ball rebound of the keeper, leaving Sean Ayre alone in the six yard box to head home- 1-0.

Torridgeside looked to hit back in the forty-second minute when they won a corner kick, unfortunately for the kick was a little over hit a flew over the heads of everyone and out for a Teignmouth throw. 

The fourth official signalled there would be two minutes added time but there was change to the score and Teignmouth went in one – nil up. 

In the fifty-second minute, Torridgeside won a free kick for handball about thirty yards out, however the cross led to nothing.

Torridgeside had more possession in the second half without being able to break the very good and strong Teignmouth defence.

tvt cross

They never gave up and had their striker, Sam Fishwick, came close when he forced Teignmouth’s keeper Luke Asford into a superb save to preserve their lead.

In the ninetieth minute, with Torridgeside having to push for the equaliser Teignmouth got what would be the goal to seal the victory. With no time left they put together a superb passing move which sliced through Torridgeside’s defence for the excellent Sean Ayre to finish it off with a low shot sealing the victory for his team. 

The fourth official signalled there would be three added minutes but Torridgeside were unable to get on the score sheet and the match finished 2-0 to Teignmouth. 

Cup sponsor, Carl Throgmorton, gave Man of the Match to Teignmouth’s Sam Baxter.

teignmouth winners

The next match at Coach Road will be the Torbay Financial Services Devon Veterans Cup Final between Exwick Villa Vets and Elburton Villa Vets - KO 7:30pm - Gates open at 6pm.

To see a full photo album from the game please click the link below


*Photos courtesy of Miracle PR & Photography