football awards

Devon FA Football Awards 2018

Winners from this years Grassroots Football Awards

What an evening we’ve had at Exeter Racecourse for our Annual Devon FA Football Awards for 2018.

Since the beginning of July 2017, volunteers from around the county have put their heart and soul into retaining football as the beautiful game.

As ever, Devon FA are proud and hugely appreciative of the countless hours our grassroots football heroes put in.

This year, you, our incredible players, managers, coaches, referees, groundsman and all volunteers have nominated for their grassroots football hero.

On Wednesday 25th July, we held our Football Awards for 2018 at Exeter Racecourse in a room filled with 180 winners and runners up of the awards.

A huge thank you to Exeter Racecourse for hosting us!

Below you can see images of all the winners of each category:

McDonalds Award:

The McDonalds Charter Standard Club AwardCrediton Youth (Martin Daniel)


The McDonalds Charter Standard League of the Year AwardNorth Devon Youth League


The McDonalds Coach of the Year Aaron Smallshaw (UEFA B Award) (Plympton AFC U10’s)


The McDonalds Community Project of the YearHolsworthy Youth FC (Lyndon Piper)


The McDonalds Grounds Team of the YearMark Davies (SB Frankfort)


The McDonalds Young Volunteer of the YearNathan Morgan (Activate Youth FC)


The McDonalds Volunteer of the YearJulie Train (Plymouth Aspire)


The McDonalds Supporter of the YearHelen Freemantle (Honiton Town FC)


The McDonalds Grassroots Match Official of the Year AwardPaul Owens


The McDonalds Respect AwardChaddlewood Miners Youth FC (Teresa Hill)


Steve Betts AwardMaria Spencer


Services to Devon FA AwardTony Alcock


Referee Awards:

Throgmorton Referee of the YearStuart Ash


Throgmorton Young Referee of the Year/The Duncan Underhill Award Brian Reeby & Terry Underhill on behalf of Bailey Walker


Throgmorton Referee Developer of the Year Brian Reeby


Devon FA Referee Service Award for 40 Years Brian Holmes, Brian Harvey, Barry Widdecombe


Devon FA Referee Service Award for 50 YearsTerry Atkins, William Hill (below)


On behalf of everyone at Devon FA we congratulate all winners and runners up for 2018.

However, we also know the huge, huge, huge number of volunteers and people who put in a great deal of time into football in Devon.