The FA Coach Mentor Programme

FA Coach Mentor Programme

Offering on-the-ground support

This programme represents a major investment in the grassroots game and offers on-the-ground support to FA Charter Standard Clubs, leagues and target groups.

The FA sees the development of coaches as central to the development of the game, and working collaboratively accelerates learning and supports coaches’ development.

Mentoring support at a club could include:

  • Developing a whole club philosophy
  • Group coaching demonstrations
  • 1:1 coaching, match-day observation and support
  • Signposting to relevant courses and events
  • Needs analysis for individual coaches
  • Modelling of coaching sessions for individual coaches
  • Individual feedback
  • An individual learning programme
FAQs

william allan

William Allan
william.allan@thefa.com 
Exeter & Disability Game

neil saunders

Neil Saunders
neil.saunders@thefa.com
Exeter

charles shwenn

Charles Shwenn
charles.shwenn@thefa.com
Teignbridge & Torbay

john ball

John Ball
john.ball@thefa.com 
Teignbridge & Torbay

 

chris smietanka

Chris Smietanka
chris.smietanka@thefa.com 
Plymouth

jon dawe

Jonathon Dawe
jonathan.dawe@thefa.com 
Plymouth

pete sayer

Pete Sayer
pete.sayer@thefa.com 
North Devon

mark rostock

Mark Rostock
mark.rostock@thefa.com 
North Devon 

kev weir

Kev Weir
kevin.weir@thefa.com 
North Devon

No. The FA Coach Mentor programme is a free FA initiative where a Coach Mentor can offer up to 100 hours of support per season.

Clubs that are keen to develop a positive coaching ethos, philosophy and develop their own in-house mentoring/coach support system.

Coaches can utilise this opportunity to start a legacy of positive coaching within their own clubs.

The FA Coach Mentor Programme is also committed to providing 5000 hours per season specifically to work with BAME, female and disabled coaches across the country.

If you are a BAME coach or working with BAME coaches/players and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Steve Smithies with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to – steve.smithies@thefa.com.

If you are a female coach or working with female coaches/players and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Samantha Griffiths with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to – samantha.griffiths@thefa.com.

If you are a coach with a disability and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Kevin England with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to kevin.england@thefa.com.

If you are interested in becoming an FA Coach Mentor please check our website for vacancies. If no vacancies are available contact the Regional Coach Mentor Officer in your region who can provide an update of the programme in and around your area.

Please note that there two application periods throughout the season - June and December.

Pre-requisites to become an FA Coach Mentor are:

  • Minimum FA Level 2 in Coaching Football
  • Member of The FA Licensed Coaches Club
  • Valid FA Criminal Record Check

North West – Steve Smithies – steve.smithies@thefa.com

North East – Graeme Carrick – graeme.carrick@thefa.com

East Midlands – Samantha Griffiths – samantha.griffiths@thefa.com

West Midlands – Andy Somers – andy.somers@thefa.com

East – Darren Moss – darren.moss@thefa.com

South East – Kevin England – kevin.england@thefa.com

London/ Armed Forces/ Jersey/ Guernsey – Kevin Green – kevin.green@thefa.com

South West – Ciara Allan – ciara.allan@thefa.com

Jonathan Dawe (Plymouth & West Devon) jonathan.dawe@thefa.com 
Chris Smietanka (Plymouth & West Devon) chris.smietanka@thefa.com 
Chuck Shwenn (Torbay & South Hams) charles.shwenn@thefa.com 
John Ball (Torbay & Teignbridge) john.ball@thefa.com
Marcus Lincoln (Exeter & East Devon) marcus.lincoln2@thefa.com 
Neil Saunders (Exeter & Mid Devon) neil.saunders@thefa.com
Will Allan (Exeter & Dartmoor) will.allan@thefa.com 
Mark Rostock (North Devon & Torridge) mark.rostock@thefa.com 

Get In Touch

Football Development Officer |

David Carpenter

Phone: 01626 323562

Email: david.carpenter@devonfa.com

When making initial contact please include your name, club name, number of teams and County FA affiliated to.

The FA Coaching Bursary

An inclusive initiative designed to support more coaches from under-represented communities with a financial contribution to progress on their coaching pathways

click here

The FA Coaching Bursary